The name of Province 2 is Madhesh and the permanent capital is Janakpurdham

Province 2 is named Madhesh Province. As soon as the permanent capital Janakpurdham was finalized on Monday, the name proposal was submitted for decision. Regarding the naming of the state, the name ‘Madhesh’ was approved by more than two-thirds of the votes cast in the state assembly meeting on Monday.

According to the constitution, the name of the province and the permanent capital must be decided by a two-thirds majority of the provincial assembly. While 99 MPs were present in the voting in favor of Madhesh Pradesh, only 80 votes were cast in favor of the proposal.

Speaker Saroj Kumar Yadav announced that the proposal was approved as the required two-thirds vote was required to name the state. As soon as the name of the state was passed, other proposals submitted for naming have become inactive.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *